Weekend Travels

Sea

Another week in paradise has zoomed by. I have to admit I’m a lover of Thursdays. On Thursdays you feel the excitement of being so close to the weekend (tomorrow’s Friday!) but with zero of the high expectations that come with them (it’s Friday – why am I at home? Why does no one love me?). As a result, I can happily (tomorrow’s Friday!) sit here with my Contract Law textbook and blog-fingers without any remorse for my sorrowful social life. I save that bad boy for tomorrow.

I have been so busy doing nothing (i.e. too busy doing things that aren’t interesting enough to blog about) to find time to blog. Although I had a beautiful weekend my camera was MIA and we all know that a blog without pictures becomes a blah-g.

Selfie

So, applying the already-established Couch-Travelling equation (quantity of time + cash + energy + luck = your pretend vacay) – this weekend’s went something like this:

medium cash (/luck because it wasn’t really mine) + much time + much energy + luck =

Friday in Italy & Saturday in Canada 

Mama MiasI have a constant fear of FOMO (“fear of missing out” for anyone not fluent in unnecessary, hip abbreviations) and Friday nights tend to be a trigger. Last Friday we last-minute decided to become un-kept up with the Kardashians and, instead, have a nice, long-as-possible dinner at Mama Mia Italian Deli.

Mama Mia’s has always been a favourite of mine, mainly because it is entirely charming and also very yummy (and Italian). However, it became instantly obvious on our arrival that Mama has really stepped her game up! It is now Mama’s 2.0 and as fabulous as ever. The menu has gone from a 15 page dilemma for someone like me who has issues deciding what colour highlighter to use to a precise few pages of pure deliciousness, the walls and the colours are revamped and (unknown until after dinner) its website, Facebook page and social media are on fire.

The waiter was lovely, food fantastic  & atmosphere to die for (the wine/mojito combination may or may not have enriched my experience). If you’re here and you’ve never been – go! If you have – go again (it’s Mama 2.0)!

Saturday MorningSaturday began as seen above but ended quite differently. I am grateful that at 20 years old I can celebrate a new holiday for the very first time because that means there are always “firsts” to look forward to. Apparently that’s the type of thing you say on Thanksgiving, which we celebrated on Saturday. I still know nothing about this holiday except that there’s a turkey involved, that same-said turkey takes very long to cook, and that it made me feel fuzzy inside. During the day I pealed potatoes, drank tea and smelt pies and at night I drank too much wine, spent time with lovely people and ate pies. Overall, I’d say Canada at Thanksgiving is a pretty alright place and I’d be quite happy to return this time next year.

That just about wraps up last weekend’s travels. This weekend’s itinerary is empty so far but, hopefully, somewhere exciting falls in my lap.

Until next time,

Taylor

4 thoughts on “Weekend Travels

Leave a Reply

